Colonial Administration, Netherland India Dirk Teeuwen MSc Political division of territory in the N. E. Indies (1)



P.1 Lieutenant-General G. C. E. van Daalen, Civil and Military Governor of Aceh from May 1905 until May 1908

Contents

1. Introduction, territory governed directly and self-governing native states

Administrative division of territory, Dutch civil service
Administrative division of territory, native civil service
Devolution of responsibility on native administration
Quotations and sources



P.2 Villa of the Governor of Sumatra's East Coast, Medan 1912

1. Introduction

Territories, governed directly and self-governing native states

The N. E. Indies were divided in directly governed territories and self-governing territories. These latter were ruled over by, more or less, independent native monarchs. The native states were of special importance on the Outer Islands. The Outer Islands were the N. E. Indian islands with exception of Java and Madura. On the Outer Islands lived 40% of the population within their self-governing territory. In Java was only 7% of the territory occupied by native states : the so-called Principalities / Vorstenlanden (Jokyakarta and Surakarta).



The aim of the Government was to maintain the native states as far as possible and to develop them so that they were only incorporated in directly governed territories , when this was inevitable in the interests of the population.. The Government exercised supervision through its officials. The relation of the Government to the rulers of the native states was until 1898 regulated by detailed treaties, which because of their details often made intervention difficult. Since 1898 most treaties have been substituted, whereby the monarchs had to carry out regulations and orders given by the Government. Mutual rights, powers and obligations were contained in special regulations.



P.3 Residence of the Assistant-Resident of Bangil (Pasaruan), East-Java, 1929



P.4 A Regent / Bupati addresses Wedana's. Location unknown.

Formerly the native rulers enjoyed the income of all sources, while from 1898 these revenues from taxes, concessions, industries, etc. flow into the treasury of the native state. The monarch received after 1898 an allowance and a reasonable share in the proceeds from concessions, etc. Expenditures for administration, education, waterworks, and so on, were defrayed out of the treasury.



P.5 Residence of the Assistant-Resident of Sambas, West-Borneo 1929

2. Administrative division of territory, Dutch civil service

The whole territory of the archipelago, including the native states, was divided into provinces / gewesten. The Governor / Gouverneur (also called Resident or Assistant-resident) was the Dutch head of a province. In conformity to their respective titles their province was styled Governorship, Residency or Assistant-Residency. (a) The difference between a Governor, Resident, Assisent-Resident (as a civil head of a province)was meaningless with the exception of the salaries. Those officials represented the Government and possessed - in as far as compatible with the powers of the rulers of the native states - in their jurisdiction the highest civil and financial administration and control of the police. The provinces were divided into divisions / afdelingen (and divisions / afdelingen in subdivisions / onderafdelingen in the Outer Islands) at the head of which stood an Assistant-Resident - the titles are somewhat confusing - assisted by a Controller / Controleur. At the head of a subdivision in the Outer Islands stood a Civil Administrator / Controleur / Gezaghebber. Again: the titles were somewhat confusing. All the officials were Dutchmen and formed part of the N. E. Indian Civil Service. They received their university-training in Leiden (Holland) and Utrecht (Holland). The Civil Administrators, charged with the management of a subdivision / onderafdeling, were trained in Jakarta / Batavia at the School for Civil Servants.



P.6 Residence of the Regent of Tjanjur / Tjiandjoer (Bogor), West-Java 1929

3. Administrative division of territory, native civil service

From the commencement of the establishment of their power the Dutch realized that the native population should be left under the direct government of their own chiefs in as far as this was possible in the execution of authority. With that end in view the provinces were also divided into districts under native jurisdiction.

For the purpose of that direct government a division / afdeling of a province was also called "regency" / "regentschap". The Dutch civil head of a division / afdeling was the Resident or Assistant-Resident, the native civil head was the Regent / Bupati. These Regencies / Regentschappen were subdivided into districts/ districten - and districts / districten into sections / onderdistricten – with lower native officials as their heads. At the head of a district stood a Wedana, at the head of a section an Assisitant-Wedana. The Regents were nominated by the Governor-General. The Regents normally descended from old distinguished families and were normally nominated in the hereditary line. The native civil servants received their training at special schools in Java.

In the Outer Islands native government officials were to be found under different names according to the various historical sources. These officials lacked the significance of the Bupatis in Java. Direct contact of the population on the Outer Islands with European officials was greater.

4. Devolution of responsibility on native administration

In 1918, under new law, the opportunity was given in certain divisions and regencies to transfer various powers to Bupatis and lesser native officials. The aim was to give native officials a certain independence from Dutch control, so that gradually - increasing devolution by successive stages - a large measure of native responsibility could be reached.

5. Quotations and sources

Recommended literature:

(1) Jong, Joop de: De waaier van het fortuin, de Nederlanders in de Indonesisch archipel (1595 -1950); The Hague Holland 1998

(2) Department of Agriculture, Industry an Commerce: Handbook of the Netherlands East-Indies 1930; Buitenzorg Java 1930

(3) Klerck, dr E. S. de: History of the Netherlands East-Indies; Rotterdam 1938

- (4) Gonggrijp, dr G. F. E.: Geïllustreerde Encyclopedie van Nederlands-Indië; Leiden Holland 1934
 - (5) Department of Agriculture, Industry an Commerce: Handbook of the Netherlands East-Indies 1924; Buitenzorg Java 1924
 - (6) Angoulvant, G.: Les Indes Neerlandaises, leur rôle dans l'économie internationale; Paris 1926

Sources

(1) Mainly this article is composed of Gonggrijp and Handbooks. See recommended literature.

Notes

(a) In 1930 there were 36 provinces / gewesten, viz. 3 governments, 32 residences and 1 independent sub-residency. That was why the titles of the provincial head officials were different.

Pictures

P.1 Zentgraaff, H. C.: Atjeh; Batavia 1940 p. 165

To be continued in "Government of the Netherlands East-Indies III"

Dirk Teeuwen, 2015

Ending